Whitney Finalists Reading Challenge

Whitney Reading Challenge

Whitney LogoHere at New LDS Fiction, we LOVE the Whitney Awards! This award was created in 2007 to honor and bring attention to some of the very best novels written by LDS authors.

In February, the five best books nominated in nine genre categories are selected as Whitney Award Finalists. Those finalists are then read and voted on by the Whitney Awards Academy, and the winners are announced at an Awards Gala in early spring.

Why a Reading Challenge?

The whole point of literary awards is to draw attention to some of the best writing and storytelling. Here at New LDS Fiction, we want to help spread that attention because these finalists are often some of our personal favorites! Ergo, our annual Whitney Finalists Reading Challenge.*

The Whitney Finalists Reading Challenge begins when the previous year’s Whitney Award Finalists are announced at www.whitneyawards.com (usually in February) and lasts until the winners are announced at the Whitney Awards Gala in conjunction with the annual LDStorymakers Conference (usually in May).

The exact start and end dates for the reading challenge vary from year to year.

Anyone is welcome to participate!

While there are 45 Whitney Finalists, you only have to read one to enter to win—but the more you read and review, the more points you earn. Your Rafflecopter points enter you into the drawings for Weekly Book Bundles PLUS an Amazon Gift Card!

You earn points by doing the following:

  • Read a Whitney Finalist = 1 point
  • Review a Whitney Finalist Amazon= 5 points
  • Review a Whitney Finalist anywhere online besides Amazon = 3 points

You may claim points for any finalist you’ve read and reviewed before or during the reading challenge.

Join the Challenge!

Readers: Click here to enter the current Whitney Finalists Reading Challenge.

Authors: Click here to be a sponsor of our Weekly Book Bundle Giveaway.


*The Whitney Finalists Reading Challenge replaces our previous Read ‘Em All Challenge.